Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Areas of Interest

  • Screening, prevention and early diagnosis
  • Blood Cancers
  • Basic Science
  • Very happy to contribute to projects outside the areas above

Jonathan Scheele

Experience: Blood Cancer

Jonathan’s Experience

I am 71 and was diagnosed with myeloma in December 2018, preceded by some 10 years of regular observation of an MGUS detected during a routine employer’s medical.

Since diagnosis, I have gone through a course of first line chemotherapy, which was terminated early due to fairly serious peripheral neuropathy. I had an autologous stem cell transplant in September 2019 and am currently in full remission.  In January 2020 I elected not to have a maintenance treatment, preferring quality of life over the limited benefits, in statistical terms, of the treatment.  I successfully got through a relatively mild bout of COVID—19 in late March/early April.

Experience with Cancer Research

This panel is my first experience of formal Patient and Public Involvement.  However, I am doing some work with the Churchill Hospital Haematology Department on patient experience, in support of their establishment of telephone and video consultations as a permanent option.

During my career as a European civil servant, I spent much of my professional life in Belgium and have experience of the health systems both there and in Switzerland and Romania, where I also had postings.  My skills and experience included:

  • Analysing data and information from a variety of sources
  • Reviewing plans and providing feedback
  • Communicating – written and verbal
  • Group working

I have substantial evaluation and report writing experience.

Following my retirement in 2012, I have been a Trustee of several local charities and served for 6 years as Secretary of the Oxfordshire Historic Churches Trust.